Jury OpenART


Jury of OpenART 2017

From left: Peter Ojstersek (SE), Cecilia Jansson (SE), Pia Männikkö (FI)

The Open Call for next year’s OpenART biennial has officially closed and the extensive work of selecting the artists will take its first steps in September.

The selection of the artworks will be made by an international jury of artists consisting of Cecilia Jansson (SE), Peter Ojstersek (SE) and Pia Männikkö (FI). All of the jury members have previously exhibited their work at OpenART.

Cecilia Jansson is a Swedish artist with a local connec­tion to Örebro through her artistic projects with the inmates at Kumla Prison and teaching posi­tion at Örebro Art School. Only in the past year she has won Örebro Coun­ty’s Culture Prize, been exhib­ited at Swatch Faces at the Venice Bien­nial and just recently completed an Artist in Resi­dency stay at NARS Foun­da­tion in New York.

Peter Ojstersek is a Swedish artist living and working in both Gothen­burg, Sweden and Berlin, Germany. Although, split­ting his time between the two coun­tries he has also, since 2007, been working as a Senior Lecturer at Valand Academy, Univer­sity of Fine Arts in Gothen­burg, Sweden.

Pia Männikkö is a Finnish artist living and working in Helsinki, Finland. She partic­i­pated in OpenART’s resi­dency project Academy in 2013, ending the stay with three artworks repre­sented at the bien­nial. Throughout the years she has been exhib­ited in coun­tries like Germany, Spain, Scot­land, Australia and more.

The 6th edition of OpenART is taking place 18 June – 10 September 2017.